Each of the thirteen folds during a deceased veteran’s flag-folding ceremony represents the same religious principles on which our great country was originally founded . . .

American Flag being folded by US naval personnel
  • The first fold is a symbol of life.
  • The second fold signifies our belief in eternal life.
  • The third fold is in honor and remembrance of the departing veteran who gave a portion of his or her life in defending our country in order to attain peace
  • The fourth fold is a reminder of our weaker nature.
  • The fifth fold is a tribute to our country.
  • The sixth fold is for where our hearts lie.
  • The seventh fold is a tribute to our armed forces.
  • The eighth fold is a tribute to the one who entered into the valley of the shadow of death, that we might see the light of day; and to honor our mother, for whom the flag flies on Mother’s Day.
  • The ninth fold is a tribute to womanhood.
  • The tenth fold is a tribute to the father who gave his son or daughter for the defense of our country since he or she was first born.
  • The eleventh fold represents the lower portion of the seal of King Dave and King Solomon and glorifies the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.
  • The twelfth fold represents an emblem of eternity and glorifies God the Father, the Son. and Holy Ghost.
  • The thirteenth and last fold reminds us of our national motto, “In God We Trust,” for when the flag is completely folded, the stars are on top.
American Flag being folded by US naval officer

A portion of the proceeds of every STAND2GETHER product you purchase will help provide US flags at the gravesites of the men and women who courageously served our country. Learn more.